Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 07-20-2007, 09:09 PM   #1
BradP1987
Registered Member

Default Driving Without a License

I just bought my wife and I our first bike, 2007 Ninja 250r. The day that i bought it i was talking to a man at work that has been riding for about 40 yrs, and he told me that after you purchase a new bike, in the state of Tennessee, you can drive for 30 days w/o a license. Anyone know anything about this? Help would be great! And any suggestions as for something to do to my bike would be cool.

Brad
BradP1987 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-20-2007, 09:42 PM   #2
seruzawa
The Toad

If you call your local police or your State Highway Patrol or Troopers or whatever they call them in your State they will be able to tell you the licensing laws. Don't accept such data from an unofficial source.

I've been riding for 43 years and couldn't tell you the answer to that question in my State.

Good choice in a first bike, btw. Don't neglect taking the MSF riding course and always wear your gear.

You did get gear, right? Helmets? Armored jackets? Boots? Gloves? Very important to wear these. Mesh jackets will keep you cooler than no jacket at all in the hot part of the year.

Last edited by seruzawa : 07-20-2007 at 09:45 PM.
seruzawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 09:44 PM   #3
sachiwilson
Women Riders Moderator

Why not go to the source? (Google, people, Google!)

Tennessee Motorcycle License - Handbooks, Requirements - DMV.ORG

In a word, it looks like the ol' dude was full of hogwash, and rightly so. Riding without a license is just another form of suicide. You and your wife should get a MSF course immediately, then get your permits, and of course be sure you have the proper gear including pants, gloves, and boots.

Sarnali: "what could be more useless than arguing with a deaf female lawyer????"