|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
Registered Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nyc
Posts: 3
|
hi,
has anyone ever purchased a bike over this website from a private seller? i want to buy a bike which is in a different state and am currently trying to figure out the payment stuff. the seller told me that he would do everything over motorcycle.com who would contact menwith further instructions. i would like to know if this is true? i submitted a request but havent heard back from the website. many thanks, g |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links | Remove Advertisements |
|
Motorcycle Forum Advertisement |
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Founding Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 891
|
Don't do it. If you're going to purchase a bike over the internet, do it via eBay, where you have "purchase protection". Or go local via craigslist or a dealer.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Registered Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nyc
Posts: 3
|
Thanks. I guess nothing beats the "fly/drive there and bike for cash" deal.
But is there something where motorcycle.com acts as a third party? If it is not true but the seller is telling me something like that exists, it would be a red flag. |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Founding Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leanin' Tower O' P-P-P-P-POWAAAAAAAAA!!!!
Posts: 11,422
|
I have no knowledge of MO acting as an Escrow. Sounds fishy to me.
__________________
Parfois, on fait pas semblant Sometimes, it's not pretend Oderint Dum Metuant Let them hate so long as they fear политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now... |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Registered Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,388
|
Motorcycle.com collaborated with Klazy Ken's Internet Motorcycle Seminars (home of the Klazy Deals) for years. But the partnership ended after a lawsuit over royalties and tradename rights.
__________________
"This used to be a fun country before the conservatives ruined it." |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
The Toad
![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 8501 ft.
Posts: 17,394
|
Sounds like a scam to me. It's very dangerous to buy a motorcycle without actually going to see it and test riding it.
__________________
http://www.badmovies.org/movies/deadalive/ I kick @ss for the Lord! |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
Registered Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central Illinois/North Cent. Florida
Posts: 773
|
Quote:
Seems to me like this scam was the subject of another thread about a year ago........and an Admin. confirmed that no such thing exists.
__________________
My Rides: '07 Honda Shadow VLX 600 '06 Suzuki S-50 (VS800) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 | |
|
Administrator
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: On My Bike
Posts: 0
|
Quote:
__________________
Check out some of our new motorcycle forums: Vulcan Forum | Goldwing Forum | RC51 Forum | FZ6 Forum | Victory Forum | Buell Forum | KTM Forum | Aprilia Forum | Star Motorcycle Forum | Kawasaki Forum | If you are interested, we are looking for moderators and admins to help grow these sites. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Registered Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nyc
Posts: 3
|
thank you all. very valuable information
|
|
|
|
![]() |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | |
|
|









