Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 07-01-2011, 03:08 PM   #1
alex_romano
Registered Member

Smile Did I Make the Right Choice?

Hi Folks,

I am relatively new to motorcycling. I purchased a 2002 Suzuki Volusia 800 in the spring of 2009 when I turned 51. I did have one for a brief time in my mid twenties (honda twinstar 185 cc). I have thoroughly enjoyed this motorcycle and the new experience over the last 2 years logging about 7,000 miles. This has been an excellent beginner's bike despite its full size. I really like its looks and have been complemented on more than a few occasions. However I felt like I have outgrown this bike because I found the power-band relatively short, the transmission at times loud and clunky, and the bike lacking power generally. I am 5'7" and weight about 160 lbs.

I considered moving to a sport touring bike like the honda VFR800, but after a short ride, I felt uncertain of the change in riding position. I did not give it a fair trial. I had been after this bike for a while. In the end, I decided to stick to the cruiser class of bike with a more relaxed riding style and attitude.

I have purchased a used 2008 Suzuki C90T (1,500 cc) with 5,000 miles and nicely equiped. I am taking possession tomorrow.

Did I make the right choice?

Your opinion and thoughts are welcome. Thanks for your support.

Alex
alex_romano is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-01-2011, 04:18 PM   #2
seruzawa
The Toad

It would probably have been better to ask this question before you bought the bike.
Old 07-01-2011, 04:51 PM   #3
Buzglyd
Founding Member

Well you like Suzuki cruisers, so it sounds like you made the right choice.

Who gives a damn what anyone else thinks?
Buzglyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 04:55 PM   #4
alex_romano
Registered Member

Hi Robby,