Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 05-29-2011, 04:55 PM   #1
allanworks
Registered Member

Default 1978 kawasaki kz750 twin help

hi im new to motorcycles and forums .but i used to be a ase certafied machanic.i was thinking about removing my air box and switching to direct clamp on air filters.you know the ones that clamp directly to the carb.well if i do that will i have to adjust the carb because of the extra air flow. also i have a pet**** stuck on reserve and my left carb is leaking gas out the drain tube at about a drop a minute does that mean i need to rebuild the carb/pet**** or both.also later down the road i was thinking about doing a full restore would it be worth it or sell it after fixing the problems and buy a newer bike.
allanworks is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 05-29-2011, 08:17 PM   #2
Easy Rider 2
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by allanworks View Post
hi im new to motorcycles and forums.

but i used to be a ase certafied machanic.

i was thinking about removing my air box and switching to direct clamp on air filters.

does that mean i need to rebuild the carb/pet**** or both.
Gee, Allan, those questions don't give me a warm and fuzzy feeling about ASE certification !!

1) The bike you got is probably too big for a total rookie (ref. the other thread you started) unless you are a pretty big guy.

2) Do NOT mess with the stock equipment as long as the bike isn't running right.......that is, carb leak. On a bike that old, messing with the "tune" of the mixture probably isn't a good idea at all......on a bike that you intend to ride any time soon.