Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 02-07-2011, 09:22 AM   #1
RogerA
Registered Member

Default New to riding

I am in the process of buying a 2011 fatboy. They didn't seem receptive to negotiate on price. I plan to have HD put on vance and hines big radius pipes, screaming eagle intake, tuning module and a different from stock seat (forgot the name). Should I or do I ask for the stock parts back or equivalent discount on those parts? Like is said, I'm new to biking and green as hell. Thanks in advance.
RogerA is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 02-07-2011, 10:06 AM   #2
pushrod
Founding Member

They probably won't give you any credit for the stock stuff. So, keep all of it. If you decide to sell the bike later, it is a PLUS to have all the original bits.

Also, consider the Dealership will soak you for the labor to install all the shiny bits, and charge you top dollar for them, too.

I have become -
Comfortably Numb.
pushrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 10:24 AM   #3
Easy Rider 2
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerA View Post
I am in the process of buying a 2011 fatboy. They didn't seem receptive to negotiate on price.
That's no surprise. New Harleys usually aren't discounted much.....if any.

I hope you are paying cash for all this............because it is my opinion that anybody who has to finance his toys should NOT be making the outlay that you propose.

Normal depreciation is bad enough but with the "extras" that you propose it's likely that you will be upside down for the majority of the term of the loan......and if you want or need to sell in the first couple of years, it's likely that you will take a substantial beating financially.