Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 10-03-2010, 01:39 PM   #1
MikesGSX1300RK9
Registered Member

Default Newbie Here - Question About Suitable Bikes

I have been riding for awhile, and bought a Hayabusa earlier this year. Unfortunately had some bad luck shortly after purchase and am starting to think that my 130 pound frame is probably better suited to something lighter. I love the Busa, and although I've taken the MSF course and still take her to the parking lot, know that I may not be strong enough to muscle the bike around in an emergency situation. I'm fairly strong, but worry that I'd drop the bike in a turning panic stop in traffic.

Interestingly, I have a Kawasaki Ninja 250 from "back in the day" and have such concern with it. However, it is much too small for my daily commute, to the point of being unsafe. Folks tailgate here and drive too fast. It was fine where I lived previously, but I see 65-70 mph daily and need to be able to accelerate briskly at that speed if conditions require it for safety.

SO... I'm thinking about selling both bikes and moving to a sportbike that is as fast (or faster) than your average Mustang Cobra but is easier to handle in traffic/maneuvering for the daily commute. Looking for 50+ mpg. The dealer has a nice 500 for sale, used with only 500 miles, but I'm not sure that the 500 will have the oomph I'm looking for (especially after riding the Busa.)

I do like the length of the Busa, as it helps reduce chances of unintentional wheelies. This was actually a selling point when I bought the bike, as I've heard of many folks having accidents with their "liter bikes" due being "squidilicious" and having the front end come up or other issues.

Considering new or used... although some of the nicer new bikes were within $1000 of the price of the Busa when I bought the Busa (new.) Not sure I'd want to spend that kind of money for something that isn't a Busa.