Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 06-15-2010, 08:41 PM   #1
cenkaetaya
Registered Member

Default have question about choosing a sport / touring bike

Hi, i was interested in purchasing a motorcycle, i am a just post college student and am not looking to spend more then 3000 really.

i especially like the bikes such as the BMW K series, I most importantly want a bike that shakes very little. I hate when things shake cuz then my hands do that for hours on end and ...

so what are some bikes you guys could recommend for a beginner that would be within 3000 that would be similar to the bmw, where you sit up straight, yet looking somewhat like a sport bike.

thanks
cenkaetaya is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 06-15-2010, 09:05 PM   #2
ejis
Founding Member

First of all - welcome!

When you say "beginner", do you have a license? Have you ridden before? For how long / how many miles?

There's a new rider "sticky", and some recent "what bike should I get" threads as well. I suggest checking those out.
ejis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 04:33 AM   #3
A Star Ride
Registered Member

Pacific Coast Honda, great lil touring bike, they should have not stopped making them. Hard to find though.
Old 06-16-2010, 05:43 AM   #4
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member

I'd like to tell you differently, but with $3k to spend, you aren't getting a BMW. Maybe an old, ragged out 650...

With that budget your best choice for a sport touring is a 90's Kawaski Concours. They're bullet-proof, fast enough to be fun, and you can ride them all day. But, they are heavy and are not for a beginner.

2000 Kawasaki Concours for sale in Tuscumbia, Alabama - CycleTrader.com
Old 06-16-2010, 06:24 AM   #5
acecycleins
Founding Member