Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 05-27-2010, 06:49 AM   #1
jeff10236
Registered Member

Default GPS- is a motorcycle specific unit worth the extra cost

So, one of the things I had in mind when I bought a motorcycle was interstate travel. I am a teacher and I'm off during the summer. By next year I may take a long camping trip touring much of the country. I may go on a short trip as early as this summer.

So, I am thinking about GPS units. My Garmin NUVI has been terrific in the car when on trips or going to an address for the first time. I don't use it regularly however.

So, for occasional use I was thinking about possibly just getting a motorcycle mount for my existing car/portable GPS and using that. I know that the motorcycle specific GPS units are made to handle the weather and the vibrations of a motorcycle, but for occasional use (trips and occasionally when going to a new address) I'm wondering if my existing GPS may be OK or do I really need to spend the $500+ for a GPS made to withstand the abuse that it will take on a motorcycle.
jeff10236 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 05-28-2010, 06:00 AM   #2
A Star Ride
Registered Member

I'm in the market for a GPS myself and been debating getting a motorcycle model and use for bike trips and daily work in my work truck, but feel the bike models are overrated. If you're worried about the vibration just put it in your jacket pocket or in a tank bag and use headphones, but I'd think most bikes wouldn't vibrate enough to hurt them.
Old 05-28-2010, 06:28 AM   #3
trenttheuncatchable
Founding Member

The main differences between the bike models and the car models is that the bike models are weatherproof and more accessible to gloved fingers (bigger screen buttons).
trenttheuncatchable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 06:43 AM   #4
A Star Ride
Registered Member