Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 05-25-2010, 05:00 AM   #1
jeff10236
Registered Member

Default Motorcycle camping

I love camping. I am a teacher and I'm off during the summer (except those summers I take a summer job- maybe 1/3 of my summers). One of the things I had in mind when buying a bike is possibly taking a cross country tour in the next 2-3 years, after some experience. In the meantime, I'm thinking about some weekend (first) and week long (later) camping trips, possibly starting with a short trip sometime this summer (take a weekend and go somewhere that is just 2-4 hours away).

How many here have done motorcycle camping? What gear that you may "need" when car camping have you left behind when motorcycle camping? With all the stuff out there for backpackers there are plenty of small scale versions of camp gear, however backpackers need to worry about weight (won't be too big a deal on the bike) which may add to the cost. What do you take with you, and do you try to squeeze regular camp gear into your bags, or do you spend extra for the unneeded weight savings to have the smaller sized backpacking gear?