Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 02-18-2010, 12:56 PM   #1
sakinoko
Registered Member

Talking New bike, for a new rider... (Long version)

Hey folks, (Apologize in advance at the length... Will do so again several times along the way :P)

I have a question for all the experienced sportbike riders out there. I need input as I'm caught in a dilemma. As this is my first post I'll give you a brief introduction to help with responses. I've been riding dirtbikes since I was 10 years old (currently 2, and have finally been fortunate enough to get into a situation where I can afford a shiny new bike of my choosing. Now I know how most will respond to this...

"Start on a 600ish bike so you can get use to the feel of riding on asphalt and on a heavier fuller bike as opposed to the stripped down, knobby, sliding on dirt and hitting jumps you might be use to on the dirtbike. Then once you've mastered it move up to a bigger toy if you feel the need."