Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 05-26-2009, 03:19 PM   #1
toddup
Registered Member

Default Harley questions

I am looking from advice from people who have bought bikes from Harley dealerships. I am new to Harley's and am looking at purchasing a Nightster and am evaluation whether to buy new or used. the questions i have are:

can you treat these guys as you would a car dealership, meaning are you able to negotiate the price as you would be able to with normal car dealerships?

why do they offer a maintenance agreement and a warranty for the bike, and is the maintenance agreement worth getting on a new bike?

Is there a good period of time to purchase like towards the end of the year, beginning, etc...?

thanks
toddup is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 05-26-2009, 04:17 PM   #2
mscuddy
MODERATOR X

I've purchased two new bikes from Harley dealers, one in 1976, and one in 2005.

The 1976 XLCH was bought at a pre-set price through the Navy Federal Credit Union at $2,800.00. So I didn't have to haggle or anything like that...

The 2005 Buell XB9SX was listed at $10,000.00, but I got it at an end of the year deal for $8,700.00 at California HD. It was a "hanger queen" that was gathering dust next to the '06 Buells, so that's why I got the deal (also the 06 Buells had improved transmissions, etc.).

Remember, you are the customer with the $$$$, and in this economy I'm sure you can wheedle them down some for the price on that Sportster. Exposing wads of cash doesn't work, since they want to get you on a payment plan most of the time.

Buying it twords the end of the model year tends to make the salesment more open to a deal.

Good luck. That's a nice Sporty you want.
Old 05-26-2009, 05:13 PM   #3
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by toddup View Post