Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 05-10-2009, 10:52 AM   #1
TheGallows
Registered Member

Default Protective Gear Brands

I've been riding for a couple months but now I need to get some proper gear. I found a site that has some good deals but I'm not sure what brands are respectable. Are any of these in this list no good?

Alpinestars
Cortech
FirstGear
Tourmaster
JoeRocket
Sidi
Powertrip
Held
Shoei
Speed Strength
FS
Scorpion EXP
TheGallows is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 05-10-2009, 11:00 AM   #2
TheGallows
Registered Member

HAALP!

bumpbumpbump
Old 05-10-2009, 11:03 AM   #3
The_AirHawk
Founding Member

Never heard of "Powertrip", "Speed Strength", or "FS" - the others are all generally-considered good quality, well-known brands. (not sayin' those three are bad, only never heard of 'em).

I've personally used gear by FirstGear, Tourmaster, JoeRocket, Sidi, and Scorpion - as well as Icon, AGV, and KBC. My Wife crashed a few years-ago, and she was wearing a FirstGear jacket and KBC helmet, and both held up really well (although she broke her shoulder when the bike struck her after it struck a boulder). Without the gear, she WOULD have been injured far worse.
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 11:08 AM   #4
TheGallows
Registered Member

thank you very much.
Old 05-10-2009, 12:00 PM   #5
The_AirHawk
Founding Member

Almost forgot the JoeRocket jacket a friend gave me, the MotoGP jacket I got on clearance a couple of years ago, and the perfed-leather Kobe' jacket that I rode with through about 50 rainstorms. You probably can't get Kobe' here in the States anymore (easily). Damn fine workmanship, very agressive styling.