Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2009, 06:03 PM   #21
mscuddy
MODERATOR X

 
mscuddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Next to my still checkin the temp.
Posts: 5,448
Default

Youre all nuts. I just twist the wires together, and cover it with duct tape. And when I don't have the right colors, I use just one; black.
__________________
A gun is a tool, Marian; no better or no worse than any other tool: an axe, a shovel or anything. A gun is as good or as bad as the man using it. Remember that.
mscuddy is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 03-07-2009, 07:05 PM   #22
pplassm
Founding Member
 
pplassm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadScientistMatt View Post
Except that splicing wires together on a bike or car with a wire nut can have disastrous consequences. Ask me how I know.
I lost count of how many bikes I've come across with wirenuts in the wiring. One memorable Bultaco had a Euro-spec house wiring block in the middle of the high tension coil lead. Yowza!
__________________
Mongo just pawn in game of life.
pplassm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 06:43 PM   #23
MadScientistMatt
Founding Member
 
MadScientistMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 130
Default

In my case, I once owned a Triumph Spitfire that the previous owner had apparently patched the harness together with wire nuts. I say "apparently" because they had all fallen off by the time I got it, leaving two bare wires twisted together. Caught fire when I turned on the headlights. The fact that it only had three fuses in the whole harness, none on the headlights, didn't help... and that bit of stupidity was from the factory!

But splicing together a high tension coil lead with a house junction block takes the cake.
__________________
Mad Scientist Matt
2005 GS500F
http://madscientistmatt.blogspot.com
MadScientistMatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 07:43 PM   #24
seruzawa
The Toad

 
seruzawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 8501 ft.
Posts: 17,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadScientistMatt View Post
In my case, I once owned a Triumph Spitfire that the previous owner had apparently patched the harness together with wire nuts. I say "apparently" because they had all fallen off by the time I got it, leaving two bare wires twisted together. Caught fire when I turned on the headlights. The fact that it only had three fuses in the whole harness, none on the headlights, didn't help... and that bit of stupidity was from the factory!

But splicing together a high tension coil lead with a house junction block takes the cake.
You had a Triumph Spitfire? Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha..... (passing out from lack of oxygen)
__________________
"Make no mistake, Communism lost a big argument - one we know today as the 20th century."
seruzawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 10:22 PM   #25
sarnali2
Aging Cafe` Racer

 
sarnali2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sittin' down by my window, lookin' at the rain.
Posts: 8,719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mugwump58 View Post
What you don't own your own hair dryer? Just for that shrink loom stuff of course.

You probably don't buy stuff from Eastern Beaver either. I'm a messy lazy bastard, but there's something sweet about a first rate electical fix. For me that is...YMMV

well strictly speaking I don't own any hair so no, I don't....

my daughters probably do but I stay out of their bathroom and they stay out of mine...
__________________
"Carpe` Throttelum -Loud Suits Save Lives"

"He said he's farting because of his medication"...
sarnali2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off