Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 01-28-2009, 08:11 PM   #1
McCarb
Registered Member

Default Pointers on finding my project

I'm brand new to full rebuild projects, and relatively new to bikes, so if you find I'm assuming too much don't scold me too badly...I just need a few pointers from the vets.

As I stated I am looking for a (nearly) full rebuild project, I have most all the tools you could ever ask for at my disposal, from the very basics through the finishing touches (painting etc.). I need help, however, on how to go about finding the bike. I do not know if it would be possible (I have little concept of rarity in this case), but I would love to find a World War II Harley-Davidson (WLC or XA most likely) that needs a rebuild...something to make my own.

Would it be possible for me to come across one of these that isn't rusted beyond repair or already fully restored? Where would you recommend I look? I have a while until I can start this project, but would like to start looking now. There may be a multitude of things I haven't considered, if so throw me some ideas.

Thanks for any help.
McCarb is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 01-28-2009, 08:18 PM   #2
sachiwilson
Women Riders Moderator

Go to Walneck's Cycle Trader. It's a printed little mag, and is also on the 'net at ttp://www.walnecks.com/ . (Add an h at the front of that, and copy-n-paste into your browser address bar.)

Sarnali: "what could be more useless than arguing with a deaf female lawyer????"
sachiwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 05:10 AM   #3
seruzawa
The Toad

Quote:
Originally Posted by McCarb View Post
.... I would love to find a World War II Harley-Davidson (WLC or XA most likely) that needs a rebuild...something to make my own.
Me too. I've never seen one offered in 40 years.
Old 01-29-2009, 05:22 AM   #4
longride
Super Duper Mod Man