Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 11-29-2008, 10:47 AM   #1
rawdogg121
Registered Member

Default Switching from Sport bike to Cruiser, which one do I buy?

Hey I have been riding a yamaha fzr 600 sport bike for 4 years now and I am realizing that I would like a more comfortable ride for longer travel. That being said I want something that is very maneuverable and not too heavy for small city streets. I am 5'7 and 170lbs so the heavy hogs aren't for me. But I want it to still have some nut on straight aways and highway. I need a good middle of the road bike with really smooth turning. I am looking for some recommendations, because I can't test drive them all. I hope to get a starting point for my search for the right cruiser for me. Thanks a lot.
rawdogg121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 11-29-2008, 12:12 PM   #2
The_AirHawk
Founding Member

If you're looking at a cruiser for a "more-comfortable bike" you may be sorely-disappointed. Open up to a naked-standard such as a Suzi SV or a KTM Duke, or a 'Priller Falco or Tuono - the used bike market is starting to show some real "deals" out there, and if you've got a bit of cash at the right time............
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 03:36 PM   #3
sachiwilson
Women Riders Moderator

What AirHawk said.

Most cruisers these days are immense and (relatively) gutless. You can get lighter cruisers -- around 450-550 pounds - if you move down into the 650-750 cc range. But those are even MORE gutless.