Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Other > Motorcycle.Com Lounge

Old 04-04-2012, 11:15 AM   #1
The Spaceman
Registered Member

Default Go Get Yourself Some Cheap Sunglasses

One of the few things I "splurge" on is sunglasses. In Florida they're pretty much required equipment. I've always had Ray-Bans or better. My last few pairs have been Revos. They had a multi-layer glass lens, made by the same factory that produces the face shields for the astronauts.

The set I've been using for about 3 years now developed a crack in one of the inner layers, so I went to Sunglass Hut for a new pair. The sales lady told me the new Revos use polycarbonite lenses (aka: plastic). So I went on line and found the exact model number of the ones I have now. $235 from OpticsFast.com. The new glasses arrived today. Exactly the same as the original set...except for plastic lenses!

I just can't believe that this thin plastic lens is as good as the glass lens. It surely can't cost as much to make. Does anybody have any input on polycarbonite lenses?

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 04-04-2012, 11:44 AM   #2
12er
Founding Member

Well do the Poly's fog up when you leave your house? My Revo's would always fog up as soon as I stepped outside of work in Ft L. Love that FL humidity... My Glass lensed Revo's and Ray-bans seem to scratch just as easy as previous Poly lenses, only the Poly's tended to be lighter.
12er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:06 PM   #3
The Spaceman
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12er View Post
Well do the Poly's fog up when you leave your house? My Revo's would always fog up as soon as I stepped outside of work in Ft L. Love that FL humidity... My Glass lensed Revo's and Ray-bans seem to scratch just as easy as previous Poly lenses, only the Poly's tended to be lighter.