Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Other > Motorcycle.Com Lounge

Old 03-03-2010, 10:11 AM   #1
acecycleins
Founding Member

Default Need a Legal question answered

Let me preface this with a "Ken, don't worry".

One of the "original" godfather's for the motorcycle only insurance agencies and ACE are in talks to join forces. Why? 'Cause new bike sales (or lack of) has made us both stagnant and survival makes this seem feasible.
Actually, Jerry has put everyone of my competitors in business for the last 25 yrs of his business. What makes us get along so well is that I self-taught without ever asking for his assistance. That and my ability to run better customer service with less staff impresses the hell out of him.
Here's the question: Can I desolve a corporation that has unsecured creditcard debt without bankrupting the actual corporation first?

Why do I ask this? Well, our commissions are actually pretty good if you were a single employee, but it's not for two. Jerry wanted to pay for the company by allowing us to keep the ACE commissions. While this sounds wonderful- tax-wise it's not exactly great.
So I came up with the idea of "giving" him the book in exchange for paying Kim a salary (based on those very commissions) and then allowing the taxes to be taken via payroll.
To me this sounds like a wonderful idea, but I have been told that you can't desolve a corporation with exisiting debt no matter the amount.
If I can desolve the company and do what I want with "giving" the book of business to Jerry then my 2500 customers would gain a 5 person staff instead of just me and Kim. I would become an employee of Jerry's and his agency and the ACE brand would disappear (sad but true), but the combined customer base would nearly equal 6000 active policies. Those are huge numbers for an independent, single store operation. And as much as I'd miss being the "owner" I will equally not miss dealing with the headaches of being an owner.

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements