Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Other > Motorcycle.Com Lounge

Old 09-14-2009, 08:01 PM   #1
Dr_Sprocket
Founding Member

Default Why must I be like that?

Okay, so here goes...

I started riding in 2004. My first bike was a 1985 Honda Nighthawk CB700SC. I had that bike for nearly three years and almost 15,000 miles.

Fast-forward to 2007, when I upgraded to my new 2008 Buell Ulysses. This past weekend I just ticked over 13,000 trouble-free miles on the gal. Now, along come two hot chicas, the Buell 1125CR and the new Ducati Streetfighter, that have gotten my attention. The Ducati is sex on wheels, or... as the song goes, "Sex on Fire." The Buell is a rider's bike, recently winning a competing magazine's Streetfighter Shootout.

Now, I have no need for a bike that will go 160 mph. And I love my faithful Buellysses. So, why do I lust for a new bike? Is this my fate - always wanting something more... something different? I'd love to hear from you old, crusty MOFO's about your bike lusting experiences. Is what you lust for in your heart really what you wanted when you got it? Or is it just the thrill of the chase?

In the words of the immortal George Clinton: "Why must I be like that? Why must I chase the cat? Nothin' but the dog in me."

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 09-14-2009, 09:55 PM   #2
trenttheuncatchable
Founding Member

For me it's not just the thrill of the chase. What's really cool is that it's always a thrill to get on a motorcycle. It's an obsession/addiction of sorts, which is perfectly fine, because it doesn't have bad after effects, like too much drinking or gambling

I love motorcycles, so I'm always looking for that next bike. However, I'm also smart enough to know that I have two great bikes right now and there's no good reason to get another.

Having said that, I can't wait to get the specs and reviews on the new VFR 1200.
trenttheuncatchable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 05:25 AM   #3