Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Motorcycle.Com Lounge (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/motorcycle-com-lounge/)
-   -   Fighting for Our Rights! (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/motorcycle-com-lounge/12784-fighting-for-our-rights.html)

Kenneth_Moore 08-09-2009 03:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by V2Rider (Post 221193)

Clearly this issue has gone far beyond a rational discussion of healthcare. There is no doubt that there are people going to local political meetings for the express purpose of being disruptive and creating a commotion. I'm ok with that; we did the same thing when I was a student, but it was over different issues. Given that, it should come as no surprise if the politicians are on edge; they have a reason to be. So some Dr. got yelled at; somehow, I think he's going to be ok.

I think what's really happening here is that after dominating government for decades, conservatives in general, and the Republicans specifically, got their asses handed to them in the last election and they are fighting back. They're taking this issue and making it the battleground. I honestly think very few people who are pushing this anti-reform agenda give one cent what happens in health care. They are seeking to galvanize a constituency in a way similar to what Obama did in '08. It remains to be seen what the result will be.

seruzawa 08-09-2009 03:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by schizuki (Post 221122)
If you think healthcare is a serious problem now, wait until the government controls even more of it.

Perfect is the enemy of excellent.

Death rates for cancer are higher for all income levels in Canada and Britain and every other socialized medicine system in the world than in the USA. Funny how that's ignored by the lefties in all their arguments for govt controlled deathcare.