|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#151 |
|
Founding Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,733
|
Amen.
|
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links | Remove Advertisements |
|
Motorcycle Forum Advertisement |
|
|
|
#152 |
|
Registered Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 39
|
I have also found several of these on eBay; Here are some things to look for:
1. The price is too good to be true 2. The information is vague about where the bike is 3. The seller is not in the same location as the bike, and is usually registered in a another country 4. The seller has a history, but it is usually a bunch of small, unrelated stuff (developing a history on cheap items in preparation for the scam, or stealing someone’s history?; not sure on this one) 5. The seller will not accept escrow payments, etc. and wants a lot up front money. 6. The seller insists on wire transfer (something eBay cautions against – the ebay guidelines on this topic are very good, by the way) 7. The seller frequently offers free shipping anywhere (on a bike? Get real). In general, real bikes on eBay can be had for good deals at times, but not great deals. A lot of people are looking at them and will bid them up. I have bought two bikes on eBay, and it worked out well, but again, the deals were merely good, not great. |
|
|
|
|
|
#154 |
|
Founding Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 22
|
The same complaint can be made against the cruiser set, too. Most of the "customizing" done to these bikes is in the form of bolt-on chromed doo-dads and extra fringe. In the end, you get a bunch of overdone cookie-cutter cruisers waddling down the road looking like Siegfried & Roy's christmas tree. Not exactly value-added in my book.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#155 |
|
Founding Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 22
|
Ahhh... new bike smell. That is a good smell indeed.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#157 |
|
Founding Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 29
|
I've seen, and suspected, numerous "cheap" bikes on CycleTrader.com. such as $3,900 nearly new low mileage Hayabusa's a few times.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#158 |
|
Founding Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
|
I was recently perusing recycler.com and came across a low milage v-rod for 7,500. Immediately I thought to myself this bike is stolen or non-existent. ...But I was intrigued so I began email communiction. The seller sent me several beautiful pictures and the VIN which seems to be valid, but wouldn't immediately answer what city he was in. Guess what else. It turns out:
The seller claims to be in a foriegn country(England) Shipping from said country is included in the price(please) I am to send a Western Union money order. This is for sure a scam, but I'm intrigued so I'm going to continue to try and flush him out. I think next will request a odd picture (like him on the bike with today's copy of the gaurdian) Lee |
|
|
|
|
|
#159 |
|
Registered Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
|
Just want to inform you of 2 TOTAL RIPOFFS. The first is 5starsshopping, and the 2nd is cetbuy.com. I got burned by attempting to buy a motorcycle from 5starsshopping. After being led down the rosy path they just disappeared. Now this cetbuy.com has just come up with an almost identical add. Be very aware.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#160 |
|
Founding Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 4,125
|
Guess I was lucky. Saw my K bike in Ebay. Rolling down the road with my computer in wireless mode I pinched her for $3k with less than 1 minute to spare. Flew into Tampa 3 days later. Seller picked me up and took me to his home in St Pete at 8pm and by 10pm I was riding it back to ATL.
__________________
"Slack" - a state of being in which everything flows smoothly.....a frame of mind so at ease that the universe naturally cooperates. |
|
|
|
![]() |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | |
|
|






