Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle News > Old News > MO vs. World

Old 02-02-2005, 02:52 PM   #1
eekadog
Founding Member

Default Re: Unjust Sentence?

boy is that messed up...hopefully the wife and kids get some cash from johnson in some sort of wrongful-death lawsuit.
eekadog is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 02-02-2005, 03:17 PM   #2
Agent0090
Founding Member

Well, he should have lost his license for a long time. That part at least seems strange.

But let's be honest. He was careless, and in the criminal justice system careless is a lot less culpable than the intentional crimes we usually deal with. Since I work in the field, here is a sampler platter of a few murder cases in our area:

Victim killed and stuffed into a suitcase. Jury says 20 years.

Victim killed when over-the-road truck driver falls asleep at the wheel and hits a cager. Prosecutor says three years.

Victim raped, beaten, stangled, set on fire, and ultimately stabbed in the neck with a pencil. Prosecutor wants the death penalty. (And will probably get it.)

Mother puts newborn in a trashbag in her college dorm. Jury says ten years.

All cases are different. Defendants are different, too. A long-time career criminal can take a 20 year sentence and serve it without a lot of complaints; he has nothing to lose. On the other hand, I have seen productive citizens commit suicide over two- or three- year sentences (or even civil judgments) because it means losing everything they have, which is substantial. Newspaper articles generally don't even begin to cover all of the factors that go into a decision on most any case, let alone one where somebody died. Aside from the lack of a license suspension (I think anytime someone dies as a result of your driving negligence you should lose your license for a very long time), I won't criticize what a court ends up doing with so little information.