Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle News > Old News > MO Reader Feedback

Old 08-23-2001, 03:39 AM   #1
lazy1
Founding Member

Default Re: Ride in Costa Rica

sounds like a great trip.......what's the exchange rate?
lazy1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 08-23-2001, 07:17 AM   #2
El_Flaco
Founding Member

Costa Rica is an awesome place! I am studying down here right now (I am from Seattle, WA) and am having a blast. The beaches are beautiful, bike friendly drivers and a very favorable exchange rate- 330 Colones per $1 US. Yet it's true, sportbikes are rare and expensive and enduros are the preferred mode of transportation. But it's definitely a beautiful, and as far as Central American countries go, fairly safe and secure. I miss my SV650 so badly... If I wasn't a poor university student, I'd do one of these motorcycle tours and/or ship my bike down.

Thanks for the excellent article, MO!
Old 08-23-2001, 08:10 AM   #3
aminalmutha
Founding Member

Oh, to have expendable dough to do such things. Sounds like a blast to me. What about the heat and humidity down there? I was in the tropics once and almost melted away. Any other places that do tours like this? Has anyone ever done an 'endless summer' motorcycle style? Now that'd be cool.
aminalmutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 10:22 AM   #4
Hawkster
Founding Member

I think tours like this are great. I wish I could afford to go on one. Dirt, street, wouldn't matter. I think it could catch on in the US, too. Honda Hawk GT riders from all over the US (other countries, too) e-mail members of our Hawk mailing list when they're going to be travelling so they can hook up and sample each others' favorite twisty roads. All you'd need to make it work is a network of people with spare sportbikes to lend and a VERY carefully worded liability waiver and... voila!.. instant tours of the best roads in the US.