Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   MO Reader Feedback (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/mo-reader-feedback/)
-   -   Aprilia SXV and RXV New Model Introduction (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/mo-reader-feedback/3795-aprilia-sxv-rxv-new-model-introduction.html)

Dangerousdave_2 08-01-2006 07:20 PM

Re: It's the orange paint.

If you remember the 60's or 70's, you weren't there.

Nem 08-01-2006 08:27 PM

1st hand info

Burgbilly1 08-02-2006 02:50 AM

Re: Aprilia SXV and RXV New Model Introduction

I have been reading about these bikes for the past year or more and was lusting after them after seeing them at the motorcycle show in Minneapolis. I've read in a couple of different places that they require rebuild after 50-60 hours. When they bring the street version over I'd be highly interested in it except for this fact. It's not that I can't do a rebuild, it's just that I am a lazy and inept mechanic and would prefer to ride my bike instead messing around with it in the garage. I also agree with Johnny B that Supermoto type bikes are quickly becoming an option for those of us on sportbikes. I am getting tired of being associated with the 16-20 year old crowd around here with their backwards baseball hats, Gixxers, and fat-assed girlfriends trolling around town. The same goes for those idiots riding quads around on the street. Dude learn to balance.

yoavy11 08-02-2006 03:01 AM

"Will it need frequent top end rebuilds like some of the current 4stroke MXers?"

I'm afraid so, reports from Europe talk about very high maintenance costs. Not your daily commuter than.

I'd love to see this engine in a different chassis though, RS250's maybe? thatll be a hell of a track bike.

iamz 08-02-2006 04:22 AM