Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle News > Old News > MO Reader Feedback

Old 08-09-2003, 04:40 AM   #1
sarnali
Founding Member

Default Re: Bates Boots Feedback

Cool boots, Back in the day all the fast guys wore Bates. I'm glad to see they're still a going concern.

I prefer my Sidi on-roads myself for all the same reasons, fit, comfort and quality, plus they've got a little more padding and are waterproof, a big concern in my neck-o-the woods.
sarnali is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 08-09-2003, 05:16 AM   #2
Steve781
Founding Member

Default Great for Commuting or Dancing

I've been wearing fastlanes for street riding for 3 years now. Overall great boots. Very comfy. The double leather throughout gives me confidence my feet would survive should something unpleasant happen. At the same time, they are comfortable enough that these are my favorite shoes to go out dancing in. The look of my older fastlanes is very subtle, more so than the ones shown here. I wear then often as my commuting boots and people at work need never know I 'm wearing motorcycle boots with slacks and a button down. Very discrete. The only drawback I can come up with relates to the rear zipper design. If you have a high arch, like I do, it can be very difficult to get your feet into the proper size boot. I actually had to go up a size just to get my feet in. Nothing I tried, shoe horn, thin socks, goose grease or swearing could get my feet into my "regular" shoe size in a pair of fastlanes. Outside of that, buy these boots and be happy.
Steve781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 05:22 AM   #3
Steve781
Founding Member

Default Different Models Available

The boots shown in this article are the racing style boots. The yellow patch on the ankle is the telltale. Bates also makes a very similar touring model, which is what I described above, that is very good for office duty.