Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   MO Reader Feedback (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/mo-reader-feedback/)
-   -   '03 Best of the Best Feedback (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/mo-reader-feedback/1861-03-best-best-feedback.html)

SeanAlexander 05-20-2003 05:58 PM

Re: Wheee! Look at me! I'm an Engineer!!!!!!

It may not have been "physics" but it WAS correct.

smythie 05-20-2003 06:15 PM

Re: Peak HP vs Torque (Ftlbs, Newton Meters) be clear what you are talking about

Your remark about Ferrari and their V12 to V10 swap is not entirely true. Sure, pumping losses became an issue and the package size was also a big factor (much more so than the pumping losses), but the limiting factor was valve train as far as power was concerned.

You see the bottom end of the V12 in theory could rev much faster than the V10 for the same TDC and BDC accelerations, but they could not use those extra revs to their advantage because the top end of the engine (the valve train) could not do those revs.... So, they bit the bullet and went for the less balanced configuration (they had big vibration problems early on in the V10's lifetime) to be able to better exploit the 3litre engine's torque that.

On another note, this whole argument will be made defunct once individual valve actuation is sufficiently developed. This will allow a MUCH broader scope for tuning, basically removing the advantages of the v-twin over the triples, fours, fives and sixes. Could you imagine a litre bike with 100Nm+ from 500 rpm all the way to 16000 rpm (or the limiting speed of the components)?