Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Misc News (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/misc-news/)
-   -   1984 Honda 1200 Goldwing Aspencade (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/misc-news/5271-1984-honda-1200-goldwing-aspencade.html)

BHerndon 06-25-2007 12:28 AM

1984 Honda 1200 Goldwing Aspencade

I know that I am fairly new to the computer world but I am hoping to find someone with the answers to my problem.

My bike appears to be struggling to breath out through the factory exhaust. Especially on the left side. It get so hot you can barely stand to keep your foot down at the floorboard.I noticed one night that the inside pipe on the left side was glowing cherry red.I don't think this is normal. I believe it it also destroying my fuel milliage.
QUESTION:::Is there someway that the mufflers could be gutted out so it could breath better? I have owned Honda's before where you could remove the baffles from the mufflers. Can this somehow be done to a 1200 Goldwing? If anyone knows of a way to solve this problem-Please let me know. Thanks BHerndon:confused: :(

longride 06-25-2007 07:14 AM

The problem isn't with the mufflers, it's with the engine. There could be a multitude of problems that could cause what you are experiencing, including carb contamination, valve lash too tight, intake blocked. I'd forget looking at the mufflers and examine what may be wrong with the motor.

mscuddy 06-25-2007 08:22 AM

Any 4 stroke where the exhaust is glowing cherry red at the head pipe indicates a major problem with either:

#1: Exhaust valve(s) not seating.

#2: Over lean/rich condition in the carbs on that side, or a BIG air leak. When it's way too rich, the flame front will go out past the exhaust valve, turn the head pipe cherry red, and eventually cook the exhaust valve. When it's too lean, combustion chamber temps are too high, and might cuase the same problem with the head pipe turning red, and warp the valve.