Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Learning to Ride (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/)
-   -   Hondamatics and other automatic transmissions (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/9320-hondamatics-other-automatic-transmissions.html)

hankfish 08-22-2008 05:19 PM

Understanding Hondamatic models to Choose 1st Bike

Hi,
My name is Hank and I am a newbie to motorcycling. A person at work recently bought a Suzuki Burgmab 650 and I was bitten by looking at another means of transportation. The Burgman is a little more scooter for cost than I wanted to pay. This started my research into motorcycles with automatic transmissions. I looked at Qlink then I came to Suzuki and Honda. Honda seems to be a little more available and from what I have read are reliable and fun to drive. The question I have is they come in different sizes, C400A, CB450A CB450T and CB750A. Ther are also CM400A AND CM450A. The 1981 CM450A is capable of 85MPH where the 1983 CM450 is capable of 100mph. The older modele oc cb400 are capable of 100mph. What bike would be suitable for a beginner and what differences are there between these bikes? I hoping for a bike as a commuter and short distance tourer safe on highways. Any advice would be helpful.

Hank Fish

Kenneth_Moore 08-22-2008 05:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hankfish (Post 192089)
I hoping for a bike as a commuter and short distance tourer safe on highways. Any advice would be helpful.

Hank Fish

Hank, you've written the mission statement for literally dozens and dozens of scooters. Most of them can do what you want them to.

Here's my advice: decide how much you want to spend FIRST. Then go down to the dealers and start sitting on the scoots that are in your price range. Roll them around, put it on the centerstand, (don't get one without), open the hatches and maybe toss the girlfriend on the back. One will strike your fancy.