Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 07-21-2008, 09:48 PM   #1
jogh
Registered Member

Default Need some advice

I apologize if this is in the wrong forum but I'm in need of some pro advice.
I'm 18 and thinking of getting a bike for riding around campus and the city. I'm looking for a sport type bike (I think) that works best for this and has good MPG and reliability. I'm also not looking for the top of the line bikes as I am a college student and am looking for something on the low end of the price range. Any tips are appreciated.
jogh is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-21-2008, 10:23 PM   #2
Jimmyhnrx
Registered Member

Craig's List. Just bought a 2001 Suzuki Intruder 14000 miles for under 3k. Search other city's not just where you live. Just check it out very well.
Jimmyhnrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 10:41 PM   #3
sachiwilson

Read the sticky thread in this Learning to Ride forum. It'll give you quite a bit of info on your choices.

Sarnali: "what could be more useless than arguing with a deaf female lawyer????"
sachiwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 07:38 AM   #4
acecycleins
Founding Member

[QUOTE=jogh;189612].
I'm 18

Let's just Pick this apart:
"I'm 18"- usually a pretty tough age to insure most things on.
"bike for riding around campus and the city"- are you sure it's a bike you "need"?
"looking for a sport type bike (I think)"- please refer to "I'm 18" x 10.
"works best for this and has good MPG and reliability"- sound like you have two differing goals.