Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 07-02-2008, 04:48 PM   #1
lrredsoxfan06
Registered Member

Default I'm NEW to all of this...ALL help appreciated!!

Hello everyone!

I am an 18 year old, turning 19 in September, looking to buy a bike for next summer and had a few questions the veterans here might know the answers to, or may be able to point me in the right direction. By the way, I am 6' 3", roughly 200 lbs.

A little about myself though first..I ride dirt bikes, four wheelers, etc. a few times a week, every week. I know motorcycles are different than dirt bikes, but they are on the same page for the most part. I've been riding for about 3 years now, so I do have a little experience.

While reading the questions, I am looking to get a bike for gas prices, to go to school and work, and enjoy the ride. I am NOT looking for something like a Huyabusa, or something fast, just something to start out on, nothing high on insurance, etc etc.

My Questions:
1. What type of bike would be a good starter bike for me?
Please keep in mind that I am 6' 3", roughly 200 lbs.
2. Roughly how much would a bike under 500cc cost in insurance yearly?
I am 18 years old with no motorcycle experience. I do have a car, 2 years experience with that, but I don't know if that will effect anything.
3. About how fast would a 500cc bike go?

These 3 questions are good for now, and all I can think of right now. If I come up with anymore, I will post them.

Thanks in advance for the help and I'm looking forward to contributing to this board!
lrredsoxfan06 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-02-2008, 05:31 PM   #2
lrredsoxfan06
Registered Member

After posting, I decided to browse for some gear and accessories to kind of familiarize myself with some stuff..but I came up with another question.

4. What brand, style, etc. of helmets, jackets, etc. are the BEST quality?