Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Learning to Ride (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/)
-   -   I'm NEW to all of this...ALL help appreciated!! (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/8707-im-new-all-all-help-appreciated.html)

sachiwilson 07-09-2008 03:42 PM

Carbs are expensive to replace. What you would want to do is clean them out if possible. I *think* (but don't know for sure; I know someone else will chime in) that a carb can get gummed up to the point of no return, and in that case new carbs will be needed.

What you want to see is a bike that runs cleanly, both at idle and at speed under load.

Another thing to check for if a bike has been sitting is the gas tank. Is it full of rust? Trying to keep rust particles from clogging a carb is an exercise in futility.

lrredsoxfan06 07-09-2008 04:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sachiwilson (Post 188731)
Carbs are expensive to replace. What you would want to do is clean them out if possible. I *think* (but don't know for sure; I know someone else will chime in) that a carb can get gummed up to the point of no return, and in that case new carbs will be needed.

What you want to see is a bike that runs cleanly, both at idle and at speed under load.

Another thing to check for if a bike has been sitting is the gas tank. Is it full of rust? Trying to keep rust particles from clogging a carb is an exercise in futility.

Yea, people have mentioned the gas tank. Say it is full of rust, how would you go about cleaning it out, or whatever? I mean, what would you do if it was rusted?

sachiwilson 07-09-2008 05:58 PM

There are a few methods. If it isn't too bad, the traditional method is to take the tank off, put in a handful of bolts and nuts, and shake the tank for a few hours to knock off all the crud. Then flush it out really well! It *does* work, but obviously that's a lot of work!