Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 04-22-2008, 07:42 PM   #1
redsavina
Registered Member

Default Shifting gears

Aight,

This is a total newbie question.

I have about 18 years experience of driving a stick shift car, and 1 month of riding a motorcycle.

When I drive my car, I am fully aware of what gear I am in, mostly based on the gear shift position. I dont even have to look down, just feeling where the gear shift is lets me know where I am at. I have found that this is different for a motorcycle. Of course, I realize what gear I am in as I accelerate, I can count to 5. However, sometimes I am cruising for a couple of miles in 4th gear...or, was it 5th gear, then I want to slow and make a 2nd gear turn. Sometimes, I cannot remember if I am to shift down 2 gears or 3 to hit 2nd gear. Ending up in 3rd gear for the turn wouldnt be bad, however, I really dont want to end up in 1st for a turn I am anticipating taking in 2nd gear.

How do most riders manage this? Its not a problem when I come to a stop, because I just click all the way down, and usually I can feel when I hit 1st, it feels a little different. Also, it wont go down anymore, so I know I am in first when I come to a stop, so it really doesnt matter what gear I was in when before I started slowing down for a stop. Also, I can downshift one gear at a time, release the clutch, and feel if that gear is appropriate with my speed. But when I drive my car, I could be in 4th, break hard while downshifting right from 4th to 2nd, let out the clutch, make the turn, and be on the gas. I also do this from 5th to 3rd in my car as well, depending on the situation.