Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Learning to Ride (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/)
-   -   dropping your bike (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/7217-dropping-your-bike.html)

aja152 02-03-2008 04:59 AM

dropping your bike

hi.

im a real newbie with motorcycles.... so please excuse my ignorance.

i was just wondering about the problems of dropping your motorcycle. Well, obviously physical problems... but does it also include possible internal problems or something??
:(

sfcdjevans 02-03-2008 05:06 AM

I've only had internal problems when dropping a bike, ie: wtf you FORGOT to put down the kick stand? I had an artificial stimulus problem in the 70's and 80's.

aja152 02-03-2008 06:41 PM

oh~ i see i see.
thanks for clearing that up... because i didnt really think it was a big deal when accidently dropping a bike if it resulted in physical damage, maybe a scratch here or there... but since it can cause internal problems...i guess then it is a big deal.

sachiwilson 02-03-2008 08:13 PM

Oh, that's what you mean.

You are not likely to damage the interior of your bike by dropping it, but it does depend on what you hit.

Kenneth_Moore 02-04-2008 08:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aja152 (Post 178307)
hi.

im a real newbie with motorcycles.... so please excuse my ignorance.

i was just wondering about the problems of dropping your motorcycle. Well, obviously physical problems... but does it also include possible internal problems or something??
:(

Do you mean internal physical problems with the bike or with the rider?

The innards of bikes are very tough; I\'ve seen and participated in some bike wrecks that virtually destroyed the metalwork, suspension, and frames of bikes, but left the engine and drivetrain unharmed. Shifter shafts tend to get bent up in wrecks; resulting in a need to disassemble. Most everything else is encased.