Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 12-04-2012, 02:43 PM   #1
malinda0817
Registered Member

Default My Lady Biker Story on How I began...

I’ll start off by telling you a little bit about myself and how I got into riding. I began as a passenger on the back of a boyfriend’s Sportster and quickly realized that I belonged on the front! The feeling of driving yourself…I can’t even put it into words! In addition to riding my motorcycle, I work as a Sales Coordinator for a gift distributor. (Sorry, we don’t have any motorcycle gifts.)

My spare time is devoted to riding my Harley Dyna Low Rider. (I’ve been an avid motorcycle enthusiast for as far back as I can remember.) I also enjoy traveling, checking out live bands, shopping, and spending time with my wonderful teenage daughter and son. I have been blessed with a loving family and friends.

If you are considering riding a motorcycle of your own and have doubts or fears, please note that I’m not recommending that my way is the “right way,” but if you are anything like me, I had a ton of fear and doubted myself so much that I could drive one or even own one.

Let me explain:

In April 2005, I bought my brand new (2005 Harley Dyna Low Rider) and THEN learned how to ride. Yes, that’s right, I bought an expensive big bike and didn’t even know where the clutch was, let alone where the brakes are – heaven knows we need our brakes! I had a friend of mine drive the bike home from the dealership. I then took the Rider’s Edge Motorcycle Safety Course which was offered through Harley Davidson. I was bound and determined to pass the test — I was excited to ride my pretty white bike! Oh…I did pass.