Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 09-06-2011, 02:27 PM   #1
lewisdj
Registered Member

Default Buying a wrecked bike.

Whats going on guys,
I am new to the motorcycle world and I am trying purchase my first bike. I have looked around and done my research on a ton of used sportbikes but I have not made any decisions yet. However, a buddy of mine rebuilds titles for cars and goes to various car auctions around the south to purchase cars for his business. He said that I could find great deals on wrecked sportsbikes. I feel prettty confident in my ability to repair a wrecked bike if I could get a good deal on one. I was just wondering a few things to look out for in purchasing a wrecked bike. A few things to stay away from if you would. I have heard people say to stay away from the bent frames because they will never run the same way again. Just some helpful advice from any of you all would be appreciated.
Thanks
lewisdj is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 09-06-2011, 02:52 PM   #2
pushrod
Founding Member

Besides the obvious mechanical and structural issues a wrecked bike brings with it, you need to check how your State deals with 'Salvage Titles.' Then check with your insurer.

You'll probably find that a 'cheap' wrecked bike will cost you as much as, or more than you could buy an intact used bike, by the time you're done finding parts. The 'deal' sours much more quickly if you cannot do all the work yourself.

I have become -
Comfortably Numb.
pushrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 02:59 PM   #3
Easy Rider 2
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by lewisdj View Post
However, a buddy of mine rebuilds titles for cars

He said that I could find great deals on wrecked sportsbikes.

Just some helpful advice from any of you all would be appreciated.
Advice, we got plenty of that; helpful, well you might not think so.