Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 05-09-2011, 10:45 AM   #1
sincere101
Registered Member

Default newbies 1st road trip

Ok (waving) Im a newbie, been riding a couple months, although learned years ago and recently took the MSF course. My 1st bike was an 97 gsxr 600 srad (a beast) I now have a 2007 GSXR 600, I love this bike, still getting used to her ( the weight etc). My first road trip is coming up in about 2 weeks (700miles NY to SC) stopping every 1.5 hours. Any advice to a new rider?
sincere101 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 05-09-2011, 11:21 AM   #2
Morbo the Destroyer
Registered Member

That sounds fun. I hope you have a great ride.

First, don't plan on making the trip in one day, unless you're prepared to be beat to crap on arrival. Even on a sport-touring bike, 500 miles in a day is a good ride. Unless you're in incredible physical shape, you're going to be hurting after 300 miles, so plan on it and don't expect to do much more than that in one day.

For a new rider on a sportbike, 2 days; maybe 400/300 is more realistic. Rain gear is a necessity for this type of trip. If you're soaked and cold by a thunderstorm, you won't ride well. Obviously your bike has virtually no weather protection, so a full-face helmet goes without saying. If you can find some gloves with the little squeegee on the index finger, get a pair. Cycle Gear usually has them. They also have anti-fog wipes you can use on your helmet's faceshield.

Your chain will need a lube or two...perhaps at your overnight stop and certainly by the time you arrive. Bring a can. Even if the bike isn't using oil, take a couple pints in case the highway miles burn some. Of course make sure your tires have plenty of tread. A lot of guys will put a tire plug or similar repair kit in their bag.