Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 04-24-2011, 07:40 PM   #1
Tricky79
Registered Member

Default Yet Another First Sportbike :) New Guy

Hello all I am new to this forum so allow myself to introduce myself. My name is Kris and I am a 32 year old who is FINALLY ready to go street. I got my motorcycle license about 10 years ago when I thought I was going to get a bike then. Well I got a dirtbike instead and loved it. Life also happened and I just got too busy with work and other crap. Now here I am and I am determined to get a bike. I have always loved the sportbike style over the cruiser mainly because I love to go fast...Like Ricky Bobby.

The bike that was recommended to me back then was the somewhat new Suzuki SV 650. Obviously this bike was very popular, but seemed like something I would want to replace quicker than the loan. I am aware the dangers of sportbikes and all bikes alike as I am a paramedic. I figure there is danger in nearly everything and if I do my best to be the safest and most defensive rider out there, well it's still dangerous.

I am loking for a new bike and am torn between a bike like the Ducati Monster and a full sportbike. Then there is the question of new or used. I know most of this was me talking but there are a few questions out there. Thanks for your time.
Tricky79 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 04-25-2011, 04:42 AM   #2
cloud9
Registered Member

Well the monster comes in 3 different engine variations which could ease your decision making. The 696 is considered Ducati's beginner friendly motorcycle with the 796 being a more gradual step up.

With your dirt-bike experience and perhaps a msf refresher course you could go the new bike route.

Insane are called those who deal with death

Masters are called those who seal the deal

Legends are called anyone of those who die in their quest.
cloud9 is offline   Reply With Quote