Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 10-10-2010, 12:55 AM   #1
chaossentry
Registered Member

Default assistance for total beginner and freeway capability

I currently have my motorcycle license. I went about it by getting a scooter,practicing and passing the test on it. Now I have taken the MSF course before i rode anything and failed it but I at least got on one. I now plan to take individual riding lessons to learn how to ride a motorcycle properly

My question is,once I have learned how to ride. I would like for my first bike to be a 250cc beginner bike. I was looking at the v-star cruiser or 250 ninja. My main concern is that i live in ny and work downtown. my main way of getting there would be through freeway namely the major deegan and the hudson since i live outside the city

I keep hearing about how 250cc cruisers struggle on freeway while the basic ninja 250 can easily handle it. flipside is even low powered semi sport bike like the ninja 250 is not recommended to beginners.

So can anyone assist me with this?
chaossentry is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 10-10-2010, 06:42 AM   #2
The_AirHawk
Founding Member

Actually, the Ninja 250 is very highly-recommended for beginner-riders; tractable engine, easy clutch, linear power-delivery, relatively upright seating, light-weight and inexpensive. Buy Used, whenever possible.

Admittedly, it's not the quickest bike out there - and depending on the size of the rider, it might be a bit taxed - but as a "City Bike" it probably cannot be beaten by anything.
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 10:40 AM   #3
cloud9
Registered Member