Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 08-30-2010, 11:49 AM   #1
5spoke
Registered Member

Default Passed MSF Class, Looking for bike.

Yes OG members its another one of these threads. The one where I tell you i am new to riding and am in need of bike suggestions.

My experience: I started riding with my fiances dad a few months ago and have been using his 750 nighthawk in the parking lot on 4 or 5 occasions for an hour or two each time. Just recently took and passed the MSF course.

Size: I am 6'4" with a 34-35" inseam and roughly 200lbs.

Current Options being considered: sv650n/s, Ninja 250/650

Question: Ok now the real question. I am a fan of standard and sport bikes and need a bike suitable for my size and experience. Everyone here preaches ninja 250r and I have no opposition to it (if I fit) but my dad and my fiances dad seems to think getting a 250cc is a waste at this point and that I will be bored of it in a short time. I have been looking at sv650's and have pretty much searched through all the craigslist ads and found nothing reasonable. My budget is roughly $3k. So what do I do? Pickup a ninja 250 (after I sit on one) and risk the "getting bored" phenomenon the Dad's speak of or keep searching for a sv650 or perhaps there is another bike you all want to recommend? I am ready to get a bike and start riding, I have all the gear paid for and in my apartment I just need that final piece.

Thanks a lot for the help and sorry for the repetitive tall guy/small bike/new guy/what bike thread.
5spoke is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 08-30-2010, 12:52 PM   #2
pushrod
Founding Member

First, Welcome to the Site!

Now then, a 34+ inseam is going to be a problem. Sport bikes, as a group, will have your heels hitting your back pockets. Standards less so, but still not a lot of room.