Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 06-29-2010, 08:02 AM   #1
jeff10236
Registered Member

Default I should have listened and bought a smaller used bike- a lesson for other new riders

I bought my first bike not long ago (I have been riding for 2 months and around 1500 miles) and have some thoughts on what I did right and wrong in my search for a bike.

You may have noticed if you frequent the forums that here and on other forums almost everyone says to buy used. There are several reasons, but two of the biggies are that most new riders drop their bike and you won't mind as much if it is "pre-scratched" and simple depreciation- buy used and when you upgrade you won't lose as much money.

They also say to start small (especially on this forum). On other forums they aren't as strict about this, but for sports bikes and standards seem to top out their suggestions around the 650cc range, and for cruisers they tend to go up to the middleweight 750-950cc bikes with some members going up to the 1100cc bikes in their recommendations. One reason to start small is to limit the amount of power- too much power and it is more likely to get away from you. The other issue, the bigger one with cruisers, is weight- too heavy and it is harder to control in slow speed maneuvers.