Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 06-16-2010, 09:30 PM   #1
Mowhawk gnade
Registered Member

Default I took your advice when I bought a bike today.

Well folks I took the leap and bought a bike today...
I picked up a 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan VN800B

it has a winshield,saddle bags,highway bars,new tires(dunlap).
the previous owner kept it outside so it's not "cherry" looking but with some elbow grease, it should look good.
the bike has 7500 miles on it and runs fine.

Any reccomendations on what products to use to clean it up?

As for riding it.

Firstly, let me say that I am enrolled in the basic motorcycle safty course in sept.

I took it around my neighborhood tonight.
it was dusk, no traffic.
lots of stop signs, 25 mph speed limit.

the bike felt great..!!! I'm just a beginner but, it did feel more comfortable than some of the ones that I test rode..(Kawi 1100,old style vulcan 800, shadow 1100)

I went with the 800cc after taking into account the advice on this board (go small,buy used)and advice from friends to "go big"
so I met in the middle.with an 800cc cruiser.
I got it up to 3rd gear and downshifted at the stop signs.(I never made it past 30mph.)
the bike feels well balanced in that, if I'm going 2-5 mph comming up to a stop itfeels like it holds it'self up.
I only droped the clutch once killing it.
but it clutches smooth and being an 800 I'm sure it has plenty of power but that will wait.
I feel the most uncomfortable getting it going and turning from a stop.
Just unsure and afraid of gunning it and not making the turn.
I'm very lucky to live in a quiet subdavision where there is not alot of traffic,especially at night.
I have to remember to use my turn signals though.I forgot a few times.

All in all I'm a very happy camper. I have a bike that, if dropped wouln't make me cry and for the price I paid(under 3k, blue book was 3600) will hold it's value at least. as far as the looks..it's a bike, not a show horse.