Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 05-20-2010, 07:59 PM   #1
jim250
Registered Member

Default new rider need advice?

Hello everyone,

I just started riding my first street bike a few days ago and have a question. Say if you are cruising down the road at 45mph in fifth gear and you are approaching a red light. Are you suppose to downshift through each and every gear? Or can you pull the clutch in and slow down with your brakes ? Does it hurt the bike to shift from fifth gear to first gear with the clutch squeezed in the whole time? Thanks in advance. Jim
jim250 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 05-20-2010, 08:04 PM   #2
jeff10236
Registered Member

You can use the clutch, but then you'll lose engine breaking. Engine breaking helps slow you quicker, and it will prolong the lifespan of your brakes. However, it won't really hurt anything to just use the clutch and coast while braking.

In my car, and now on my bike, I usually downshift a gear or two, then around 10-15mph I'll disengage the transmission with the clutch and just use the brakes while I come to a complete stop.
jeff10236 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 08:39 PM   #3
JMcDonald
Registered Member

Ive heard mixed opinions on this regarding street riding, so I can't really tell you which way is better. When I used to ride dirtbikes, when coming to a stop on a sharp turn I would briefly engine brake (if at all) before pulling in the clutch and jamming the shifter back down to 1st or 2nd (from whatever gear I was in), depending on the turn and terrain type. I would then only release the clutch when I was ready to add power.

Though, do understand that while engine breaking through each gear is saving your brakes it bit, it is also putting a little more wear on the clutch discs and disengagement components with each use.

Last edited by JMcDonald : 05-20-2010 at 08:41 PM.