Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 04-30-2010, 06:24 PM   #1
aalberti
Registered Member

Default New Rider - College Student

Hey everyone,

I'm a college student who is beyond interested in getting a bike. I currently have zero experience riding but know for a fact that I want to get into the sport. I'm not an idiot, I know that the bike can and will kill you if you don't respect it; I plan on taking the MSF riders course in a couple weeks and am just after some advice from some old timers. I'd really like to have my first bike by the fall (I have a particular lack of cash at the moment...). For the past two summers I have been researching safety issues and particular bikes and have finally convinced my parents to let me get one. So, I've been around dealerships, talked to family friends who ride, and have found out that with my age, athleticism, and awreness i'd be able to handle a 600cc bike for my first bike. With that, i've been looking at used CBR600s, Ducati Monsters, and a couple others... Any advice in regards to a bike? Or anything for that matter? I'm all ears.

Thanks
aalberti is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 04-30-2010, 07:24 PM   #2
trenttheuncatchable
Founding Member

Read the new rider sticky. Then, after you take the MSF BRC course, get a used Ninja 250 and ride that for a year. Then upgrade. To something like an SV650S. Ride that for another year or two, take some track days, and then get a CBR600.

Getting a CBR600 as your first bike is a *bad* idea that can easily get you killed. You need seat time on a much more forgiving bike.
trenttheuncatchable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 08:07 PM   #3
MopedMarauder
Registered Member

Don't get a 600c supersport as your first bike. The ninja 250r is one of the best choices out there for a first bike.
MopedMarauder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 08:53 PM   #4
JMcDonald