Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 04-01-2010, 07:35 AM   #1
jeff10236
Registered Member

Default I'm probably going to buy soon

So, I'm probably going to buy a new or used bike in the next week or two (what bike is pretty irrelevant for my question though). I'm not taking the MSF course for about a month (I finish it on Sunday, May 2nd) and I plan to get my motorcycle license the day after I finish the course.

I will buy the bike before I take the course so I can finish that Sunday, get my license on my way home from work that Monday, and go riding later that afternoon- I'm a teacher, my day starts before 7am, so I get out of work pretty early. I'm looking this early because this week is simply when I have the time (I'm teaching full-time and in a masters program- this week is spring break).

I live in an apartment with a multi-level parking garage, and the top two levels are nearly never used.

So, since I will buy the bike a couple weeks before I get my license, but I live in an apartment where part of the parking garage is quite empty, I was thinking...Would it be OK to get some parking lot practice (learn where the clutch engages and low speed handling) before I take the class or should I just let it sit and maybe occasionally start it so it starts fine when I'm ready to go?