Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Learning to Ride (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/)
-   -   Newbie question about the steering of an oldtimer bike (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/13441-newbie-question-about-steering-oldtimer-bike.html)

DDR_Fan 10-20-2009 03:17 AM

Newbie question about the steering of an oldtimer bike

Hi, I have this oldschool German bike "AWO 425 Touren".
It was manufactured in 1956 and shares almost everything in its design with another German bike - BMW R25.

Now, I am a newbie who is willing to learn how to ride.
And I intend to do that on that old bike.

What puzzles me is the steering of this oldtimer.
When you grab the handle bars and start rotating the front fork left and right, you can feel that the fork kind of "snaps" in place when its position is dead center.
I guess this helps a lot when you are driving on straight streets and highways.

BUT!

I have heard that when you are trying to take a turn at high speed you have to slightly twist the front wheel in the opposite direction of the turn.
How am I supposed to do that when the front wheel is "snapped" in place and holds itself straightforward?
Don't get me wrong - no, it is not hard to un-snap it, but this still bears the risks of twisting the front wheel too much because it kind of "pops out" with sudden force out of its snapped position.

I tried to loosen the tightness of the steering system (there is a screw for this job) but this doesen't loosen the snapped position.

Is this all OK?
_

pplassm 10-20-2009 03:21 AM

You have worn steering head bearings. These must be replaced before you ride the bike.

Strongly suggest you find an inexpensive biike to learn on so you do not risk that relic on the street.

DDR_Fan 10-20-2009 03:35 AM

Damn... Are you sure that this is a deffect and not something that was intentionally engineered this way?