Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 06-15-2009, 09:21 AM   #1
RenaissanceWoman
Registered Member

Default I want to do this SMART! Scooter vs Motorcycle

I am giving myself a year (I actually have a countdown). My goals are to take the MSC in April and have all my money saved so I can pay cash for my bike. I am hoping to save about 3 grand (hopefully more) plus gear and MFC fees so add about a grand to that. My original plan was to get a scooter 250+. The more I talk to people who have motorcycles the more I am thinking I should get a motorcycle. I don't know I need more info.
Here is some info about me:
Wife, mom of two boys ages 10 and 4, middle school art teacher.
I want my husband to take the MFC course with me and I think he will or he will have to check he ego at the door as he rides on the backseat.
I just turned 40 (although I feel 25ish), I am 5'3", 130lb.
I have no experience on a scooter or motorcycle although I ride a bike very well, and I played around with a mini-dirtbike in my backyard. I also drove a CRX SI (stick shift)---back in the day .
My blog also has some links to the different scooters I have been looking at.
I have been looking at all the gear and I will have a full face (flip-up) helmet, armor, Bates boots---the works (I like my skin)
I would love your thoughts!
Thanks!
Vicki
Scooter countdown

Last edited by RenaissanceWoman : 06-15-2009 at 09:23 AM. Reason: add info
RenaissanceWoman is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 06-15-2009, 09:43 AM   #2
acecycleins
Founding Member

Today's current 250 and up scooter market is great. There are tons of choises. If you want to cut to the chase, however, I would look at these three. Kymco Exciting, Suzuki Burgman 400 and Yamaha T-max.
Those Maxi scooters will have excellent in-town manners and the ability to hold highway speeds for sustained periods.