Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Learning to Ride

Old 05-30-2009, 07:32 PM   #1
Jager71
Registered Member

Default Neck Pain from Riding

Newbie question here...

I have been riding my Shadow 750 almost everyday for the last 3 months. I have noticed that when I ride on the highway (SoCal average speeds between 75-80 mph) for more than 20 minutes I develop neck pain right at the base of my neck between the shoulder blades. I figure it's from the wind buffeting (I don't have a windshield installed and wear a full helmet), but is this something that goes away? I'm in pretty decent shape for a 37 year old (6'2/230 lbs) so is it just muscles I normally don't use, or is it a symptom I should be concerned about? Suggestions please. Thanks.
Jager71 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 05-30-2009, 07:34 PM   #2
seruzawa
The Toad

Get a windshield.
Old 05-30-2009, 08:09 PM   #3
Dr_Sprocket
Founding Member

The neck muscles, like any other muscle in the body, need to be trained. If you are performing an activity at a significantly higher frequency or duration, then you need to give the muscles time to adapt and change.

It would unrealistic to just walk outside and assume you could run a marathon (for a non-runners). And it would be equally unreasonble to assume the forces put on the head when you start riding more often would present no difficulty for the neck muscles.

I think that over time, you would get used to it. However, if you don't want to wait, then do as Seruzawa suggested and get a windshild.
Old 05-30-2009, 08:22 PM   #4
Jager71
Registered Member

Understood...thanks for the advice. Hopefully my neck doesn't get bigger, as I already have an 18' neck and buying dress shirts is a pain in the ass as it is!
Jager71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 10:59 PM   #5
newagetwotone
Registered Member