Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Learning to Ride (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/)
-   -   I Don"t Know if this is the bike for me. (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/11383-i-don-t-know-if-bike-for-me.html)

SH1FT 04-05-2009 07:39 PM

I Don"t Know if this is the bike for me.

Hi, im paul and this is my first season riding. I currently Own a 1997 Suzuki GSX600F (katana). I didn't have much knowlage when i bought the bike so i kinda of based it on year/mileage/price since i wasnt really trying to spend alot.

The bike is nice, rides smooth, and it is spunky. But i kinda feel like its not enough. Im 6Ft 2in 170 and it just doesnt have the snap i want now that i've been riding for a few months and am getting comfortable.

I keep thinking about buying a new bike but i think, what should i get. I mean i kind of dont want to spend alot because really i dont want the payment and the insurance behind it. I kinda like high rev bikes but i feel like i want more bottem end....Can anyone help me? where do i start?

The_AirHawk 04-05-2009 09:39 PM

You're just "getting used to" the power of the bike. We always want more once what we have has gotten old - and this is the perfect time for you to just ride the bike.

Really.

Dr_Sprocket 04-06-2009 03:28 AM

Listen to The_AirHawk. He's right. Ride the bike for at least one more season.

That bike doesn't have the "grunt" down low because it's not supposed to. The power is up higher in the rev range. My guess is that in town, you're not getting the revs up because you don't need to, so the bike feels weak. How high have you gone on the tach?

longride 04-06-2009 04:30 AM

"...and it just doesnt have the snap i want now that i've been riding for a few months and am getting comfortable."