Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Learning to Ride (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/)
-   -   New Rider needs help (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/learning-ride/10463-new-rider-needs-help.html)

damhandstand 01-22-2009 11:34 AM

New Rider needs help

I am a college student at the university of Texas. This summer both me and my girlfriend are planning on getting our motorcycle licenses. She goes to texas state so though it won't be a long drive, i will be driving back and forth alot. We also want to take a trip to California sometime after we get our licenses.
Neither of us have ever owned a bike. What kind of bike would you suggest me looking into buying. I need one that could seat two, but at the same time be fine for a lone driver.
Needless to say, we don't have alot of cash, so a brand new BMW is most likely out of the picture. But at the same time, i don't want to buy a POS bike.

Thanks for your input.

seruzawa 01-22-2009 11:55 AM

First off read the sticky threads in the new rider section. Start small and get something larger after you climb up the learning curve. You'll know better what will work for you then.

Personally it sounds like a Bandit1200 would be perfect for your needs... but only after you get plenty of experience on a good learners bike.

Kenneth_Moore 01-22-2009 12:10 PM

12er 01-22-2009 12:11 PM

Or an older bandit 600, but even that may be a handful to begin with. Buy a beater 500 or smaller and share it until you two are ready to move on. Deals are to be had on older bikes on craigslist. Then after having to work on an older bike you'll even be more prepared for your 2 wheeled life.

Kenneth_Moore 01-22-2009 12:17 PM

Add "h" to the start of the link and paste it in your address bar for an excellent article on 1st bikes.

ttp://www.calsci.com/motorcycleinfo/MotorcycleIntroA.html

pushrod 01-22-2009 01:35 PM