Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Manufacturer Forums > Honda

Old 12-27-2010, 10:25 AM   #1
BurleyBiker
Registered Member

Default New owner of a 1998 Honda magna 750..looking for tips

Hello all!! My first thread in your nice little community here. I'm an avid motorcycle rider. I've been riding motorcycles since I was 16 years old. My first bike was a 1983 Honda 250 enduro. I then begin riding dirt for a number of years. My last bike was a 2001 Honda America classic edition. I sold it right after I got married to give me and the wife a bit of extra cash for our new life together. I regretted it ever since.

So I just bought a 1998 Honda magna 750. It's been garage kept for the past year and a half. I got a great deal on it as the previous owner took great care of the bike but was diagnosed with MS last year and it's progressing to the point the previous owner can no longer ride.

So I come to all of you experts out there to aid me with some general info. The bike sadly was left with fluids in it, so I know that I need to replace all the fluids, oil/air filter. Clean the carb, make sure the tank has no rust in it. all that general stuff I feel pretty capable that I can do myself. I'm no mechanic in an sense of the word, but I'm pretty handy and understand instructions well.

I'm basically looking for info from current Magna owner(s) (specifically owners with magnas around this year of production date.)

What do I need to know about this specific bike? I've read that the R4 engines can run hot. What else should I be prepared/ready for with this model of bike?

Also any advice on things I should do before starting it for the first time. The battery is long dead so I know I'll be replacing that. I didn't want to start the bike with old fluids...so I thought I would just get some needed info from all you guys before I proceed any further.

Thanks in advance for any comments and help. I really applicate your time in this matter.

-==BurleyBiker==-