Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Manufacturer Forums > Honda

Old 09-05-2010, 10:55 PM   #1
xeven
Registered Member

Exclamation Engine Case Issue - Please Advise

My room mate recently bought a '83 Honda Silverwing. It had these 'riding pedals' installed and they were bolted to what looks like the engine case. I'm new to bikes so the proper terminology eludes me.

Anyway, the bolted pedals hit the curb and pulled off a small piece of the 'engine case'. A good deal of oil spilled out and we pushed it home. I read a few other forums and it seems like we might be able to JB-weld this beast back together. I'm pretty sure no metal got into the engine, because the piece that was torn off is still bolted to the pedals' crossbar.

The problem is, the tear is right on a bolted area, so I feel like it is more likley to leak after being welded.

Should I go ahead and weld this together, or am I looking at having to buy some new engine case pieces and have a professional put it all back together?

Here are some images of the damage.

Zoomed out view of the broken piece:

Ripped off pedal view:

Damaged view 2:

Damaged view 3:
xeven is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 09-06-2010, 09:30 AM   #2
The_AirHawk
Founding Member

JB Weld will never hold permanent-like. I see disassembly and new cases, or a skilled TIG welder in your roomie's Future.

You might say "Well, worth a try...." - but be aware that if you decide tp pull that cover later, and take the bike to a welder - he's likely to be pissed to have to clean all that epoxy off the pieces.

Oh - and ditch the case-mounted highway pegs, please. Note how the crash-bars mounted to key frame points? Why didn't he get highway-pegs that mounted to the crash bars?

Those cheap Chinese pegs and the weak-ass case did one heluva job protecting the finish on the crash bars, didn't they?
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян